Weekly Photo Challenge: Minimalist

Sometimes pictures have so much going on that I wonder “what is this picture about?”. It seems to be about everything. And nothing. In better photos, it’s clear what the subject is.

Minimalist photography is characterized by a large portion of negative space, a fairly monochromatic color palette with good contrast, and an interesting subject that is able to stand on its own to capture the interest of the viewer. … In this week’s challenge, show us your minimalist photos. Find an interesting texture, color, or silhouette. Maybe there is a story that you can tell with your minimalist photo.

This week’s photo challenge seems to coincide with a subject I’ve been musing about this morning: impure thoughts.  Impure thoughts is a fun way to encapsulate this notion: when I have mixed motives, I am leading myself astray.  It seems to be a function of that tiny but ferocious ogre known as My Ego. Instead of just seeing, Tiny Ogre busily assesses and judges.

13 replies to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Minimalist

  1. Bamboo is such a lovely plant. I love this silhouette. I had to laugh at your term “impure thoughts” – it brought me right back to the nuns and their limited views on life. 😉

    Like

    1. I love this silhouette too! I was so surprised and pleased when it presented itself. Yes, I get a laugh out of “impure thoughts” too. Its terse and apt and attention-getting, and helps me remember to just let things be.

      Like

    1. Thank you Gunta. I’ve passed this stand of bamboo many times, but last weekend for the first time I decided to walk into it. I loved the feeling of being hidden in such a forest. Bamboo is so strong and yet it’s leaves are so sweet.

      Like

    1. Glad you like my choice! You know this spot–down the hill and across the wide lawn from the palm forest, across the lane from the desert garden, standing guard over the koi pond.

      Like

Looking forward to your thoughts

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star