WPC: Alphabet

xDSC_9021_edited-1This week’s photo challenge: Let the alphabet be your inspiration: find a string of letters.

Llanfairpwllgwyngyll is a large village on the island of Anglesey in Wales. It is alternatively known as Llanfairpwll, Llanfair PG, or Llanfair­pwllgwyngyll­gogery­chwyrn­drobwll­llan­tysilio­gogo­goch. The long form of the name was invented for promotional purposes in the 1860s; with 58 characters it is the longest place name in Europe and the second longest official one-word place name in the world.  (A bit of help here from Wikipedia.)

We visited Wales in 2013, and suddenly I understood where the inspiration for all the Hobbit words came from. At least, I imagined I did.  To me Welsh is a bewildering spray of consonants.

xDSC_8914_edited-2This is the easy map of directions in the town of LLandudno (pronounced klan-DUD-nuh).  See what I mean?

xDSC_8957_edited-1No scrapbook of Wales is complete without a few sheep.

xDSC_8943_edited-1Wales is quite a beautiful country, I think.

26 thoughts on “WPC: Alphabet

    1. As I recall we were on our way to a stone age settlement way up on the coastal cliffs called the “Hut Group”, referred to by the locals as “Clwstwr Cytiau”.

      Like

    1. Thanks Eliza. This was one of those challenges where you immediately say – “okay, I have just the picture!”
      I sure did enjoy hearing the Welsh & the Irish speaking their native language.

      Like

    1. Thanks David. At least no one acts like a smarty-pants and tells you “it’s pronounced just like it’s spelled”. Or perhaps they did say that in Welsh, but I wasn’t paying attention.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. The board for Welsh scabble would be the size of a large family’s dining table, no doubt! If you write the short story of these Welsh playing scrabble or hangman, please send me a copy. I’d love to read it!

          Liked by 1 person

Looking forward to your thoughts

