Orange and Green

DSCN4563_edited-2Yesterday an orange dragonfly visited the garden. Apparently they prefer to hover near bodies of water, and indeed that’s where I’ve always found them. No ponds large or small here in drought-stricken Southern California, in my yard which gets water only twice weekly. This dragonfly guest stayed quite a while, darting off the plant stake and returning. He did this little dance at least ten times, then finally departed.

DSCN4563_edited-1I looked up dragonflies to discover why some folks call them dragonflies and some call them damselflies. I assumed it was a regional thing. Wrong again. “When at rest, Dragonflies will generally lay their wing pairs flat while Damselflies will typically hold their more elegant tear drop-shaped wings close together and away or above the body.” [link Another website says “The dragonfly totem carries the wisdom of transformation and adaptability in life. As spirit animal, the dragonfly is connected to the symbolism of change and light. When the dragonfly shows up in your life, it may remind you to bring a bit more lightness and joy into your life. ” [link]

While yesterday’s garden guest was orange, today’s was green.  I looked this one up also. I think he’s a tobacco worm, and not a tomato worm. But that won’t help my tomatoes, which are right next to my jalapeños . This one has enjoyed jalapeño leaves.

DSC_2041_edited-2

This one has made a meal of the jalapeño peppers. I got a stick and tried to knock them off. Can. Not. Budge. Them.

DSC_2044_edited-1

24 thoughts on “Orange and Green

  1. GREAT photos! Dragonflies are welcome visitors, the worm, not so much. That guy will eat EVERYTHING. The good news is that they become sphinx moths, which are are like hummingbirds around flowers. If you can’t bear to dispatch him, maybe there is another plant in the nightshade family around to transfer him to? When I find one, I put it on wild nightshade down by the river.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m going to have to look up what plants are in the nightshade family, so I can transfer the next one I see. Except, the little sucker absolutely would not let go, and I am for sure not going to touch one!!! And A. won’t even look at my pictures of them.

      I just DuckDuck’d sphinx moths (clueless in L.A. 😉 ), and I see that it’s the hummingbird moth that I first saw in Spain! Too too cool!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Nature in the form of my little garden is a continual delight. The closeup of the wing caught me by accident — that is, while editing, I accidentally zoomed in to many hundreds percent, and I LOVED what I saw. (I toned it down a bit for the blog!)

      Like

  2. A couple of other easy ways to tell the difference between a dragonfly and damselfly is that the former’s eyes almost look like a helmet while the damselfly’s eyes look like individual globes (bug eyed). Also the dragonfly’s front and back wing pairs are not identical while they are for the damselfly. The back pair on the dragonfly are generally thicker than the front pair at the base. You’ve got some really great close ups here.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Now I need to find out if damselfly’s and dragonfly’s live in the same zone. I’m going to have to go look at my other “dragonfly” pictures to discover if I’ve actually photographed a damselfly!
      Thanks for the clues, David. And thanks for the compliment!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Amazing images. Such great detail on the wings.

    Was surprised when you said there were people who called dragonflies damselflies as to me, they have always been two different creatures. That being said, I’ve heard like 32 names for those little armadillo-like bugs that crawl around on damp wood (and throughout my bathroom). I’ve learned to see them as spider-food.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your comment, RCW. I am wondering if I’m the only one who had this confusion?

      I think I know the armadillo-like bug you’re referring to. Is that the one that rolls up into a little ball if you touch him? When I was growing up, we called them potato bugs. I have no idea why.

      Like

    1. Art imitates life? Maybe so, the wings really do look like stained glass, don’t they? All those eyes must have some survival value, but I can’t figure what that could be. Its so creepy, maybe it scares away the humans!

      Thanks for your comment, Mary. Nice to hear from you again.

      Like

Looking forward to your thoughts

