The Sweetest Smell On Earth

DSC_1685_edited-1 An orange tree grows in the front yard of my nearest neighbor. The fragrance of orange blossoms fills the air all day and all evening. It greets me every time I walk outside. There is no sweeter smell.

DSC_1686_edited-1This is the opened blossom of the orange. I wonder — is that a tiny orange taking shape?

DSCN1357-1The interior courtyard of the elegant Mezquita mosque in Cordoba, Spain is called the Orange Courtyard, because it is full of the heavenly scent of orange blossoms.

DSC_1680Of course, this is not an orange blossom. What it is, I don’t recall. It grows just outside my living room window. The past few weeks I have been  complimenting myself on the wisdom of planting such a fragrant vine. Then I realized — it’s the orange blossoms, silly!

18 thoughts on “The Sweetest Smell On Earth

  1. Lovely post! Wish WP had a scratch and sniff option. 😉 Reminds me how much I love orange blossom honey – delicate and fine.
    That vine looks likes jasmine, which may well be adding to the scented bouquet.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The scratch & sniff widget is exactly what I was thinking of! Yes you’re probably right, it’s probably jasmine. Most fragrant in the evening I think. I think. The mind is a bit of fluff at the moment!

      Like

  2. This time of the year,(March-April) orange blossoms,lemon blossoms and neroli blossoms are in full bloom here in Greece. Also,is such a common tree,we have them in any street,outside of our doors and windows. YOU CAN IMAGINE the smell when you walk in the streets….is so heavy smell and so close to my memories,that every time I smell it and I m somewhere else, I recall Spring/or Easter Time in Athens…

    By the way,the last picture,is jasmine.I have one in my backyard.Another strong memory of sense. August in Athens this time!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your comment! By now all the orange blossoms have departed, and are replaced by baby green oranges. The fragrance is so sweet & wonderful, it seems that it carries fondness for so many of us.

      Thanks for identifying my jasmine, also! I have been away from WordPress for many weeks. My house is in the process of being sold, and I have found a new house not far away. Soon you will see pictures of my new neighborhood.

      By the way, I am so encouraged by the latest elections and resistance to the global financial tyranny that I hear from Greece. I pray that we will follow your lead soon.

      Liked by 1 person

Looking forward to your thoughts

