Recruiting Tool

DSC_1005_edited-1Every year on January 1 in Pasadena, California, there is a big football game played in the Rose Bowl stadium. Before the football game is a big parade through the streets of Pasadena, called the Tournament of Roses Parade. The first parade was held in 1890, and was composed of horse-drawn carriages covered with flowers.

Local tradition has it that “the Tournament has a deal with God; we’ll never hold the parade on a Sunday, and He’ll never let it rain on the Rose Parade.” However, according to the Tournament of Roses Association Web site, this “Never on Sunday” policy was instituted in order “to avoid frightening horses tethered outside local churches and thus interfering with worship services.”Wikipedia  (Rain was forecast for today, but somehow it rained on Monday instead. )

The parade is always preceded by a fly-over by the U.S. Air Force.  Many folks from the neighborhood go outside about 10 minutes before 8:00 to see the fly-over.

I think the fly-over is an armed forces recruiting tool, since there are so many Army and Air Force advertisements when professional football games are telecast.

 

23 thoughts on “Recruiting Tool

    1. Yes, the Stealth is quiet in an odd sort of way. You don’t hear it until it’s gone past, and even then it is very quiet. I don’t know what it would sound like if it was way high overhead. Since it is so quiet this close to the ground, I suspect that it is silent from way up high.

      The weather is good, but it’s quite cold for these parts. Lots of folks camp out on the boulevard to see the parade for free (as opposed to bleacher seats). Last night’s low was in the mid-30’s. Brrrrr, I would not want to be sleeping on the sidewalk in this weather.

      Like

      1. Think of the homeless… Every night a cold one. I saw a guy the other day on the street, panhandling on a windy day in the 20s. I’m always moved. However, I have a friend who is a parole officer, & on a walk through town with her – she knows many of them, many are addicts & are going to buy drugs, so it is tough to know if your change is really ‘helping’ them. Luckily, we have many good shelters and programs here, so no one has to stay on the street. They can get a warm meal, bed and shower & help if they want it.

        Like

        1. There are lots of shelters around here also. And lots & lots of homeless people, or so it seems by the number of people asking for money at intersections. I always wonder about them; whether they’re on drugs or have had a series of bad luck, or what. I am a sucker for panhandlers with dogs. Or perhaps I am a sucker for the dog with a homeless human. Interesting that you should mention this. I saw this short video on HuffPo a day or two ago, about a guy who gives a panhandler $100 and them films him to see what he does with the money. It’s interesting.

          http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/12/24/homeless-man-100_n_6378022.html?cps=gravity_2659_-8974793673649512336

          Like

          1. I saw that one, too. He proves that the only way to know would be start a conversation, though I don’t know if I’m ready for that. I’m kind of timid. The thought did run through my mind as I passed the guy on the street, though. Maybe I’ll work my self up to it one day.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I am timid also. I’d love to do street photography, but THAT seems SO intimidating. Which reminds me – I have joined a couple of local groups on Meetup.com and just today I joined an L.A. Street Photography group. Hoping to learn what it takes to photograph absolute strangers without using stealth to do so.

              Like

                1. There’s a website called Humans Of New York (HONY). It’s author/photographer has what it takes to approach strangers and take their pictures, and even get them to talk to him. Wow, I would so like to be able to do that.

                  Like

                  1. It’s either nature or nurture, you have it naturally or you have to practice it. My spouse is an introvert by nature, but being in sales he has learned to be extroverted. So if you want it, it can happen.

                    Like

  1. I’ve always heard how beautiful that parade is! So glad the day turned out rain free…even if it was a bit chilly! That first image is so striking, what a sight!

    Like

  2. MK, I went on one of the Meetups with LA Street Photographers (my article “On Broadway” from 4/13/14). I think you would enjoy it!
    Love your photo of the stealth. I can’t imagine sleeping out for the parade on that freezing night, no way. I did that once when I was a crazy teen, woke up to see footprints all over my sleeping bag. Great, never again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad to know you had a good experience with the LA Street Photographers meetup. I am looking forward to the next (my first) meeting.

      That stealth is always a fun photo to try to get. It goes over so fast. There I was standing out in the cold in my bathrobe with my long lens.

      Like

    1. Since you are so devoted to the really cool sights of a place, there’s no doubt in my mind that you’ll will one day get to see it. And, most likely on a day warmer than this past New Years.

      Like

Looking forward to your thoughts

