Future Friday – You Can’t Get There From Here

DSC_6025_edited-1
While her parents offered baked goods at a Wisconsin weekend market, their daughter slept peacefully on the sidewalk behind them.

Eckhart Tolle’s spiritual transformation came in the midst of a deep psychological crisis – his dark night of the soul. No way out of life as he knew it, no relief in life or its opposite. In the depths of this dark night he saw his Light. It reminds me of the truth that you can’t get there from here — when life is a polarity, when we are backed into the far end of a pole and we loath its opposite — we can’t get free by embracing the opposite, or moving the middle. We see only a line, and then our Source shows us a triangle. I think our species is in its own dark night of the soul.  We really can’t go on as we have been. Yesterday I watched James Hansen’s TED talk “Why I must speak out about climate change”.  Today I saw a trailer on Spiritbath for a film called “The Shift”.  I don’t know what form the change will take, but I do know that we can’t get there from here. We must transform if we are to have a future.

 

 

12 thoughts on “Future Friday – You Can’t Get There From Here

  1. I’ll sum it up, my latest hypothesis, for what that’s worth.

    We’re a species cloned by the Anunnaki, from the planet Nibiru whose orbit around our sun takes 3600 years–give or take. Known now as Planet X, as in Roman number X, the 10th planet. They came to this planet 450,000 or so years ago in search of gold to save Nibiru’s failing atmosphere. As you can imagine, travel from Nibiru to earth takes a great deal of time–from anywhere in orbit Planet X happens to be. And so the Anunnaki needed workers, lots of workers to mine gold and transporting workers to earth from their planet would be impractical. And so, they cloned us in their image–hence “made in god’s image”. Unfortunately they activated only 3% of our DNA, the rest is “switched off”.

    We must like you say, transform, switch on (evolve) our “Junk” DNA before there’s any realistic hope.

    Now I didn’t just make all this up, the information is out there in recently discovered Sumerian clay tablets, that predate the Bible–for what that’s worth. My hypothesis is inconclusive, but not necessarily unprovable, and it is only where I’m currently at in my quest to find answers.

    But then, you probably didn’t what to know all that, and I’m sure it sounds like lunacy. Hell, it may well be.

    Like

    1. Thank you Peter for taking the time to comment. I somehow found my way to a website which mentioned Planet X, and I’ve heard propositions that we, like our planet’s water, is seeded from space. I am not in any position to comment on these theories. As for me, though, it’s my belief that we are children of the Divine, and most of us are asleep to our higher Self. This driving while asleep, so to speak, is what has led us to the brink.

      Like

      1. Hi MK, while I neglected to say for fear of waxing verbose, I too believe we are “children of the Divine[s]” as are ALL animals. The Anunnaki are not God, nor divine, but rather our ancestors who limited our capabilities by turning off key parts of our DNA, in order to create a slave species. And the sleep you speak of may just be a matter of switching that on. Either way, it’s clear to me, you’re “on” more than most are and a damn fine photographer. I’ll shut up now and leave you to your leisure.

        Like

  2. I concur with the thoughts you have expressed. The necessity of having to squeeze down to get through the narrowest of passages and into a dark hole of the unknown is a common right of passage, be it for an individual or a species. The light at the end of the tunnel is only the tiniest of glimmers and we know not what it will look like in full light once we get through the sticky wicket.
    I know not what the answer is either, only that I must first acknowledge error. The trail of consumption and the waste left along the way we as a species are on is unsustainable, not even in the short term, let alone the far future.
    The first step is raising our voices above the prerecorded din of Unbridled Capitalism.
    Thank you M., I’m listening…

    Like

    1. Thanks Cuervo for sharing your observations. I’m reminded of the work of Joseph Campbell and his “hero with a thousand faces”, which in turn is the foundation of a book titled “The Writers Journey”. It’s a fascinating exploration of the fact that our human story-telling repeats the story of the Hero who goes into the underworld on a quest for the elixir of life. For Joseph Campbell it was the great stories of the world’s religions, while in “The Writers Journey” it is essentially about the modern (book & film) stories of transformation. What’s especially relevant to the hero’s journey is that by definition, the hero is that ordinary person who is willing to meet an extraordinary challenge, and is transformed in the process of facing that challenge. That’s us – ordinary people who face an extraordinary challenge.

      Like

  3. Couldn’t agree more (with you and Cuervo). I think you caught the essence in your image because my recurring nightmare is the question of what we are leaving to our young ones. I don’t know if I’ll see the horrific changes that are bound to happen, but I’m pretty sure they will.
    Off to view your links.

    Like

    1. Thanks Gunta for joining the discussion, and visiting the links. Most of us see the very scary ship on the horizon, but given my age, don’t think I’ll be around when it comes to shore. The threat is real, but I think the path of transformation is also real. The plants & animals & children deserve our best effort to head in a new direction.

      Like

  4. I don’t know as I have much to add to the above discussion, but aside from awakening the human consciousness to the Oneness of all life and the role they play in it, I have to trust that in the realm of the Divine all is as it should be. Throughout time, the pendulum swings – kingdoms rise and fall, ice ages come and go, the world spins on. Whether it goes on with or without us is up to the collective decisions we make today.

    Like

    1. Wise words, Eliza, thank you. I too trust that all is as it should be. Even so – continue to hope for an awakening will move us in a new direction.

      Like

    1. Thanks Rommel for taking time to read the post and the comments. I think people are thoughtful, and concerned, and seek ways to change course on our impact on the environment. Just today I read that the Unitarian Church has voted overwhelmingly to divest from all fossil fuel instruments in its portfolio. Very good news indeed – think globally, act locally.

      Like

Looking forward to your thoughts

